Chuck Liddell, Roofies, and Airdyne

(post originally started after Bandit 50K this past Feb)

The post-race “come down” sets in even earlier this time. I find myself craving endorphin only two days later. I’m ok with it, I settle for a suck fest of airdyne, kettlebell swings, and pull-ups.

This coffee and butter combo isn’t doing the trick, grogginess sets in and I know all to well I’m itching for something else in the near future. My radio is blasting Dan Auerbach’s Last Mistake as if a constant reminder of last years Born To Run 100K race and the good times that ensued. Something was off in this race, the burning ember wasn’t glowing very bright. I found myself running so relaxed at times my mouth kept closed and I would just casually let a dozen or so people pass me.

What was my “Last Mistake”?

I always replay in my head what Ursula says all the time- Do something that scares you everyday. Unable to shake of this feeling, unphased by the things I once considered impossible or that would literally have me questioning my sanity. Does this mean move on and stop doing these things? When we look deeper into the word unphased, the root word is phase. A quick look into the dictionary and the one definition that sticks with me is this:

  1. a stage in a process of change or development: Each phase of life brings its own joys.

If each phase of life is a development then refocusing on something else that scares me sounds about right.

(cont. April 19th)

Since starting of my full-time career at CrossFit Newport Beach,photo I have readjusted goals, and finally settled into the reality that I literally have the perfect opportunity to train day in/day out for anything I damn well please. Surrounded by a wealth of knowledge between Mel’s weightlifting and crossfit programming, Carl’s endurance guru-ness and fellow athletes, I’m in permanent brain sponge status.

Now after a long ass intro into what will probably be a short and maybe meaningless article to you, I present to you the importance of why should one put him/herself through training sessions that feel like you’ve just been horse kicked in the lungs and/or roofied yourself. There’s a minuscule ( ok maybe huge) method behind my masochistic tendencies. No I don’t include heavy volume every single day, no I don’t row 10km or Airdyne for 24 hours every other day. Let’s take yesterday’s training session for example:

Workout #1
10 AMRAP(as many rounds a possible)
3 power cleans @ 205lbs
5 pullups
8 squats

Rest 10min

Workout#2
“FYC”
5min Airdyne for cals
75 Kettle Bell swings @ 63lbs
3min Airdyne
50 KBS
1min Airdyne
25 KBS

The first one is your normal programming for me, it doesn’t scare me. Although hard, and the fact that it’ll make anyone feel uncomfortable, the pain is all over in 10 minutes. In fact 10 minutes later when I’m mentally preparing for the next one I’ve already forgotten about the AMRAP. Four hours later I’m sitting in a coffee shop writing this and still thinking about the searing burn in my lungs and legs from the helldyne. So why the night/day effect between the two?
The latter scared me. It evoked a natural human reaction to overcome fear, and get through it. From it I will gain some physical benefits but for me the real “gains” are in the psychological realm. A heavier volume day or the long pieces help your mental game tremendously. Whatever your sport may be, getting way past that uncomfortable feeling is crucial. The feeling isn’t your typical “omg that felt miserable, ok cool now let me do some core work and maybe some light rowing”. No this is much different. You’ve got nothing left, you’re on the floor, you wonder what the date is, how did you even get on the floor? This is “oh shit…. Chuck Liddell just punched me in the chest, roofied my pre workout drink and stole my wallet….”. Have you felt that before? Yes? Good, now do it once a week or so. No? Then what the hell are you doing? How are you going to casually roll up to your next competition or race and be able to go “I got this…”. One of the best scenes in Pumping Iron (in my opinion), is where Arnold jokes with his other competitors that he’s already won and called his mother before they step on stage. I’m not telling you to be cocky, but be confident. Heavier volume days, or gnarly training sessions build the mental strength needed to be confident wether on the field or perhaps platform with a 100 people watching you lift.

arnie

I’m not even thinking about the next time I will combine The Iron Endurance programming with our CF Newport Beach program. Instead I recover, rest, and of course live to train another day. Now equipped with a little more courage to tackle on another workout or weightlifting session. When shit gets hard, I think back to any of those days and go “oh just kidding this is 10x easier” and avoid direct eye contact with the airdyne or prowlers, because…no.

Now go crush weights, single track trail, or even airdyne you gnarly beasts.

Leave a Reply

